Administrative division


entitetiBosnia and Herzegovina is administratively divided into two entities: the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Republic of Srpska. The Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina covers 51% of the area of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Republic of Srpska 49%. The entities were created in the Dayton Agreement of 1995. Within this division is also the District of Brčko, which does not belong to any of the entities, but it is a special administrative unit over which the institutions of Bosnia and Herzegovina have sovereignty.

The entities have a very high degree of autonomy – they have a president, parliament, government and courts. The entities have jurisdiction in the areas of civil administration, health education, police department, physical planning and many other, while at the state level are foreign policy, defense, border monitoring, elections, foreign trade, fiscal and monetary politics, and other areas. The Constitution of these entities has guaranteed equality of all three constituent peoples in Bosnia and Herzegovina. In charge of equality are special entity bodies: the House of Peoples of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Council of people of the Republic of Srpska.

Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, with the Washington Agreement, was divided into 10 cantons /counties within this entity. The cantons are:




1. Unsko-sanski

2. Posavski

3. Tuzlanski

4. Zeničko-dobojski

5. Bosansko-podrinjski

6. Srednjobosanski

7. Hercegovačko-neretvanski

8. Zapadnohercegovački

9. Canton Sarajevo

10. Canton 10


All cantons or counties have their own cantonal government, which is subject to the laws of the Federation of BIH. The cantons have a high degree of autonomy - have their own assembly and government. The government has jurisdiction in the fields of health, education, culture and sport, home affairs, and other areas related to civil administration.

The final level of political division of Bosnia and Herzegovina are the municipalities. The state consists of 137 municipalities, 74 of which are in the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and 63 in the Republic of Srpska. Municipalities also have their own government and services, and are mainly formed around the most important town in the area.

Each canton consists of several municipalities. Municipalities are divided into communes. Besides entities, cantons, and municipalities, Bosnia and Herzegovina also has seven official cities.
Those are: Banja Luka, Bihać, Jajce, Mostar, Zenica, Sarajevo and Eastern Sarajevo.

City of Banja Luka and Mostar are located in the municipalities of the same name, while Sarajevo and Eastern Sarajevo consist of several municipalities. Tuzla is in the process of becoming the 8th official city of BIH.

All of the cities have their City Council.

Promotional Items - download

Implementation of web portal

Special Thanks

thank you

powered by /MGE & NCU